A much needed status update

July 9, 2008 § Leave a comment

Hello GSOC followers, don’t worry – I’m not dead! I’ve just been working hard on my project and have forgotten to keep everyone posted on how work is progressing!

In the last week I’ve spent some time tidying up my code. The user authentication now uses the Catalyst::Plugin::Authentication system (very nice plugin) – with a custom store to access our current authentication system (UserStuff). Alongside that I’ve improved the way login redirection is handled, so it now requires 0 lines of code to mark a page as “only visible to authenticated users.”

Work has progressed on form handling as well. I’ve decided to continue using Form::Processor as my validation library of choice, and I’m very happy with this decision. Because it does not render forms, I spent a day or 2 working on a small template library for working with forms – which makes adding forms a breeze. A benefit of this increased flexibility is that I have now been able to work on the user preferences page – this is readonly for the moment, but all data comes out of the db as you’d expect. It will take minor tweaks to complete this (I’m hoping!)

In regards to the artist page, I think I’ve finished the read-only chunk of this to about 85% – it still needs the tag display, and also needs some tweaks on the artist landing page (whether to use full view or compact view, which release types to show, etc).

Work has been slow yesterday and today because I’ve installed Ubuntu so I can run the server locally – but InitDb.pl is causing some (apparently well known) headaches. So… Rob, stop breaking things! Oh, and just because I haven’t been hacking, I still have got some important work down. I’ve started work on the documentation – I really need your feedback on this. My documentation writing skills are somewhat… lacking.

A quick run down of what’s coming up next: I’m going to finish the user controller. The final stages of this are “forgot password”, the small checkboxes about remember me/single ip, saving user preferences and nominating for auto-editor.

Feel free to give the new site a try, too! Electrological is running the latest and greatest (usually) revision of my branch, so have a bounce around. If anything doesn’t work – please file a bug. Don’t think to yourself “Hmmm, he probably knows about this” – the more bugs the better! Let me do the sorting 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A much needed status update at Cycles.

meta

